358495305_0deb1c9080-pola

today was a wonderfully full day. it started with an early morning run in Umstead Park. my friend Katie and I are training for a marathon (scheduled for November!). we decided to run a section of Umstead today, as a large portion of the race will maze through the park’s heavily wooded trails. it was perfectly beautiful and reminded me so much of my father. he and i used to run there about once a week. i miss that. i was again reminded of my dad when i grabbed a coffee for the drive home. its smell and taste and the way the sun hit my face made me so nostalgic for when i was younger and riding in the car with him; the aged smell of the old bronco mixed with the familiar aroma of coffee. how great it was to zip around town, sun on my face, my dad in the driver’s seat. i miss him.

Leave a Reply

