To be anywhere…

My mind is reeling tonight and I cannot seem to slow it down.  It has been a long day and my brain is just about done for the night. As I am wrapping up, my thoughts keep drifting to Spain. Alas, wanderlust seems to have struck again. I would love to be transported to a pueblecito right now, where I could spend the evening drinking my cafe con leche and people watching.

I have romantic notions about Spain, likely stemming from reading Hemingway’s The Sun Also Rises. The Spanish culture has so many alluring features–ranging from the food, to the joie de vivre philosophy that many Spaniards seem to carry.

There is a humbling and breathtaking ruggedness about Spain’s geography–at least the terrain regions of Spain where my feet have touched. And the juxtoposition of Moorish influence with the European way is beautiful.

Maybe one day I will get to walk the Camino de Santiago (Way of St. James) and get a more comprehensive take on Spain. For now, I will just peruse the images and stories of those fortunate, creative souls who are kind enough to share their experiences with the rest of us.

Images via:

Further reading: One woman’s experience on el Camino de Santiago

2 thoughts on “To be anywhere…

  1. Are all these photos you took Rach? they are beautiful.. wish you had some pics from Paraguay :)… I want to see you guys again.

Leave a Reply

