necessity is the mother of invention

Tonight provides a key example of how I often step from event to event without much time to breathe or pull myself together. We arrived home after a very good weekend at a friend’s river house with 30 minutes to spare before our “small group” arrived for dinner. I wanted to make something easy, not requiring a trip to the grocery, but realtively healthy.  I pulled together various staples I keep in my pantry & fridge (canned tomatoes, onions, frozen peas & fresh carrots), some chicken breasts, easy rice (“boil in a bag” leftover from camping), and some spices to make a really easy, tasty soup. I served it with some leftover molasses wheat bread to make a very simple but satisfying meal.

chicken and vegetable soup

(left to right: Bryant, Giovanni, Jessica, & Pablo)

Leave a Reply

