peace like a river

Yesterday’s weather turned from rainy and gloomy to surprisingly warm and glowing, like a late spring evening.

I threw on my running shoes and did a solid loop around the university campus and uptown.

My spirit, which had been battling the rainy weather all day long, was instantly lifted.

My run ended at a city park. I sat on the hood of my car and watched the sun set, framed by the slender, bare branches of the park’s trees. I breathed deeply and listened to Paul Simon’s “Peace Like a River” until the sky turned from a warm shade of orange into a deep blue.

photo via: papertissue

Leave a Reply

