My father is in Japan right now. He’s working with Samaritan’s Purse a relief  organization based in North Carolina. I not only feel priveleged to have a father with the desire to serve there–I am fortunate to recieve his first-hand account of the situation in Sendai. Everything he has written confirms the images of Japan I had formed through books I’ve read and films I’ve seen. He describes people who are gentle and poised, yet strong-willed and capable. He shares about the young and very old eager to help unload supplies, distribute shipments, etc…with great efficiency and a grace that you don’t hear about in many disaster situations.

It’s humbling to read my father’s accounts…to watch the news & see photos of Sendai. I look forward to hearing more beautiful stories of how the Japanese people conquer this devestation.

all photos via samaritanspurse.org

Leave a Reply

