morning pause

When we come to a clearer and more sober estimate of our own limitations and responsibilities, that makes it possible more genuinely to love our neighbor.

– Dietrich Bonhoeffer

For the first time in a couple of weeks, I took some time to read and meditate over my morning coffee on the front porch. I read some sections of Deitreich Bonenhoffer’s Life Together, which is pocket-size but full of simple insights. His points on reflecting and being quiet struck me. I’ve noticed that I’ve been exceptionally agitated lately – easily frustrated with myself and the people I am closest to. I’ve allowed the smallest things to incense me and I’ve been so quick to make judgements about everyone–even people I love most. I think my internal unrest has even translated into physical discomfort, as my stomach has been in knots and I’ve been far more interested in sleep than normal – ha.

All that’s to say – I’ve placed too little weight on the impact of getting up early and filling my mind with good things. There’s something to be said about pausing between opening your eyes and throwing yourself into work and conversation. In doing so, our thoughts and hearts get a good rinse and we can ease ourselves into to the day. We learn how to listen, to enjoy the sound of birds and the taste of our coffees, and to slow down and approach our work and the people we brush up against with intention.

image via: papertissue.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

