welcome, fall

Welcome, fall with your crackling leaves, your cool mornings. I didn’t realize it until now – that I’ve missed you. I’ve wanted to greet you in my sweatshirt and boots. To walk down the street and see how you’ve change this town with your homecoming games and pumpkined porches. To sit down and enjoy you with a hot mug of coffee. To gather my friends around a bonfire in your honor. To run in your woods and smell your cool dirt. To open my windows and let you slide in while I bake nutmeg, cinnamon, cardamom – all your favorite spices. Welcome fall, I’m so glad you’ve returned.

image: via oh pioneer!

Leave a Reply

