knee jerk

37334996508

Today I was reminded of how quickly negativity can penetrate ones heart and mind – turning a perfectly good day into one that involves combatting frustration and angst. I channeled my anger to a post-work run, expecting the cold night air to wash over me and pull me out of my drama. And it really did work. It was a gift to reflect on how I, too, can be so negative sometimes -in my mind, out loud, toward people, toward circumstances, and so on. I, like those who were unkind to me today, carry power in my words and disposition. Far too often I place the people closest to me in a position that requires them to deflect negativity that I convey.

So, as unpleasant as parts of today were, I am so thankful for the wake up call on negativity. I want my eyes to see beauty, my heart to find joy wherever I am – in people, in circumstances, and even in adversity.

Proverbs 17:22

A cheerful heart is good medicine,
but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.

Proverbs 16:24

Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.

 

image via ohpioneer

 

Leave a Reply

