theme of the season

I have very strong associations between seasons and songs. For instance, Bon Iver will forever remind me of fall 2009, Beach House will be linked with winter 2010, and folky musicians like the  Great Lake Swimmers will be  tied to winter 2011. For some reason, I’ve fallen back in love with bluesy, soulful sounds this December. I try to change my playlist, but I keep returning to the likes of Nina Simone, Ruth Brown, and now, Rafael Saadiq. With these sounds floating through the house, I have a little more confidence in my step, a little more shake in my hips, and I can’t help but dance a little more than usual as I work around the kitchen.

2 thoughts on “theme of the season

Leave a Reply

