I love the living you

I had a chance to hear Jeff Mangum live tonight in Asheville. It was a cold and snowy night. We had cheap tacos and Wedge beer and huddled close in a warehouse-style building for a few hours to hear some very good music. I’ll carry good memories of the night.

Perhaps my favorite song of the evening was one that Mangum didn’t even write: I Love the Living You by Roky Erikson. I was a bit startled that such a simple song -with a lot of repetition and plain words- pulled my heart and caused tears to well in my eyes (ok, maybe the last part isn’t such a surprise). My favorite lines are “God bless everything that you do….thank you for living you”. I could visualize the songwriter (or the one who loves) watching the person on whom they’ve cast their affections.  There’s no trace of self-interest; the one who loves (the songwriter) is just glad to be a witness of the one who is loved, and they wish only good for them.

I love the living you by Roky Erikson

G D G D G Em C G D G G D G
I love you. I love everything that you do. I love everything that’s you. I love you. I love you.

D G Em C G D G C 
What you do to purple and blue. You flatter everything that’s good. I love you. We’ll sit on 

G D C Em G D G 
the flowers throughout the hours. Hot is hot and cold is cold. God bless you. God bless 

D G Em C G D G C 
everything that you do. God bless everything that’s you. God bless you. We’ll sit on the 

G C Em G D G 
flowers throughout the hours. Hot is hot and cold is cold. Thank you for living you. Thank 

D G Em C G D 
you for everything that you do. Thank you for everything that’s you. Thank you for living 

G D G
you. Thank you for living you.

C G 

Leave a Reply

