Change of Scenery

I took Wallace out to Montreat today. I intended to hiking on some mountain trails near Black Mountain, but couldn’t pull myself away from the little village. It has walking trails throughout and I spent an hour or so following them.  I almost felt like I was in Switzerland with the cool weather, knotty forest of hemlocks, mountain laurel and ferns, the sound of rushing water everywhere I went, and of course, the darling homes (all circa 1900-1915). Afterward, I walked around Black Mountain and treated myself to a hot chocolate from one of my all-time-favorite coffee shops, The Dripolator. I’m glad I resisted the urge to stay home. Sometimes a change of scenery is just what I need. house

wallace drinking Ducks Boats waterfall Wallace woods bench coffee

Leave a Reply

